In the Friend Zone

So, recently I have had this song stuck in my head. It is called “Friend Zone.” It is basically  talking about this boy and girl who are good friends. However, the boy the wants to be more than “just friends.” But the girl didn’t feel  the same way. So he saying that he’s “caught up in the friend zone”funny-pictures-auto-802747

My question is, what is so bad about being in the friend zone? Why does every relationship between a boy and girl have to be somewhere on the way to becoming a “special relationship”.  Why when I’m talking to some boy for a certain amount of time, the adults look at me cross-eyed and the minors are holding up their hands in a heart shape. I mean, would you rather be in the enemy zone? I love all my friends, boy or girl, and enjoy their company. If you want more than that, I’m flattered, but if that is not God’s plan right now, why can’t you just be happy with the relationship we already have?05173f37fd09ac261740737dd6d028d57dc7af-wm

Quite frankly, I would rather just have a really good friend that I can hang out with, without the awkwardness. That I could go to an event with a dude, without the agonizing questions:

“What did he mean by that?”

“If I eat this much, will he think I’m a pig?”

“Should we hold hands?”

“If he puts his arm around my shoulder, should I lean on his?”

And the million dollar question:

“Should we kiss?”

I’m sixteen. I have never had a boyfriend. However, I do enjoy the freedom that comes from just being friends without jealousy or awkward. I know that there is no chance of broken heart or a broken relationship. There is really nothing wrong with being in the “friend zone.”

Young women of Jerusalem, I charge you by the gazelles and the wild does of the field: do not stir up or awaken love until the appropriate time. Song of Solomon 2:7

Leave a Reply

