Influence

Have  you ever wondered why your parents don’t allow you to do certain things that aren’t particularly harmful, or morally or legally wrong?  At one time I thought they were just being over protective and at another time I thought that they didn’t think I was mature enough. These are possible and even partially true, but as I think about it,I am also starting to believe that the reason why they don’t allow us to do these things is because they know what we can be influenced by. two  thing that can influence us are other people and ourselves. Our parents are constantly watching us and can see what we are able to handle and what we aren’t. For instance, if you are easily irritated by your younger siblings, then why would your parent allow you to babysit someone that they know are on a mission to annoy everybody.

There are plenty of things that my parents don’t allow me to do that I would like to be able to do. Therefore this year I resolve to not be influenced by every inconvenient temptation that comes my way, but I can’t do it without Jesus.

 So, whoever thinks he stands must be careful not to fall. No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to humanity. God is faithful, and He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation He will also provide a way of escape so that you are able to bear it.(1 Corinthians 10:12- 13)

P.S Okay, so this resolution is kind of late, but hey, better late than never. Right?

Leave a Reply

